ALL Bengal Conference of ABECA


The 18th Conference of All Bengal Electricity Consumers’ Association (ABECA), a people’s committee, formed in West Bengal three decades back to fight for the cause of the electricity consuming people. the name familiar enough to the electricity consumers of West Bengal, was held on 18 February 2021 at the historical Subodh Mallick Square, Kolkata on a dais erected in the name of Sanjit Biswas, the departed leader and founder President of the organisation. The delegates fully endorsed the Organizational Report placed by Prodyut Chowdhury, the outgoing General Secretary and pledged to expand ABECA organization and build up intense movements in demand for withdrawal of the “Electricity Act 2003”- as well as the amendment Bill of 2020 and now of 2021. This movement should be extended to other states as well. The delegates also voiced protest against growing spurt in electricity tariff and demanded that electricity be supplied free of cost to the agricultural consumers. Another resolution extending wholehearted support to the ongoing peasants’ movement was unanimously adopted. A new State Committee to guide the movements in the days to come unanimously elected with Anukul Bhadra as the President and Subroto Biswas as the General Secretary.

Please share
scroll to top